How to Reset Your MacBook: A Guide

How to Reset Your MacBook: A Guide

June 25, 2021 0 By Hoofer
Zerto Gartner Report

Did you recently purchase your first MacBook?

If so, you are part of the two-thirds of the American population who own at least one Apple product. There’s no question concerning the MacBook’s performance. The same thing goes when it comes to its quality and durability.

However, a time will come when you resetting your MacBook becomes necessary because of certain issues.

Continue reading below for a quick guide on how to reset your MacBook the right way.

Things to Do Before You Reset Your MacBook 

Learning how to reset your MacBook begins with preparation. Prep your device and secure your data before proceeding with the reset.

First, make a backup of your MacBook, particularly the data you wish to keep. It’s the most important step when preparing your computer for a reset. You don’t want to reset your MacBook and lose your precious files, photos, videos, and other content along the way.

Use the Time Machine to back up your files. You can also use third-party software like ChronoSync Express or Get Backup Pro

The former works best if you want to back up multiple folders. On the other hand, the latter is your best bet for saving only the most important files.

Next, de-authorize your MacBook from your Apple account. It’s crucial if you’re looking to sell or give away your laptop. Go to your Apple Music or Apple TV’s menu bar.

Select Account > Authorizations > Deauthorize This Computer to de-authorize your MacBook.

Also, sign out of your iCloud and iMessage accounts. Unpair your Bluetooth devices. Go to “System Preferences” and select “Choose Bluetooth.” 

Select your connected devices from the list and hit “X” to remove your device. Lastly, reset your MacBook’s NVRAM. Turn off your MacBook and turn it back on immediately.

Thereafter, press and hold Command + Option + P + R for 20 seconds to reset the NVRAM.

How to Reset Your MacBook: Using Recovery Mode

After prepping your MacBook and securing your data, reset your MacBook safely. Perform a reset using the Recovery Mode. It allows you to wipe out your data and reinstall the macOS after.

Interestingly, there are two ways to do this. It depends on the chipset within your MacBook. The first method is for Intel-based Macs while the second is for Apple Silicon-based Macs.

If you have an Intel-based MacBook, go to the top-left part of the screen and click on the Apple logo. Select “Restart” and wait for your MacBook to shut off. As soon as it powers back on, press and holds Cmd + R.

Once the Apple logo appears, release the keys to enter Recovery Mode. 

If you have a MacBook with an M1 chip, go to the top-left part of the screen and hit the Apple logo. Select “Shut Down” and wait for your MacBook to completely turn off. 

From there, press and hold the “Power” button until the MacBook turns on. Wait for the “Loading startup options” note to appear before releasing the Power button. From there, go to “Options” to enter Recovery Mode.

Erase Your Hard Drive

After restarting your MacBook, erase your hard drive. Go to the utility window and select “Disk Utility.” Choose your startup disk and select “Erase” at the top of the Disk Utility window.

Go back to the menu and select the Journaled version of the Mac OS Extended. Select “Erase” then go back to the Disk Utility menu. Complete the process by clicking “Quit Disk Utility.”

Reinstall the macOS

If you plan to continue using your MacBook, you will have to reinstall the macOS on your computer. You also need to restore your files to your MacBook.

To reinstall the macOS, connect your device to the internet. While in macOS Recovery, go back to the macOS utility screen. Click “Continue” and click “Reinstall macOS.”

If the MacBook prompts you to unlock your disk, enter your MacBook login password. If it doesn’t, erase your disk before you can proceed. 

The installer may also ask you to choose between Macintosh HD or Macintosh HD – Data for the installation. In this case, choose the first option. It prompts the MacBook to proceed with the macOS installation.

Leave your laptop open. Avoid closing its lid or putting it in sleep mode.

Once the installation concludes, restore your old files. If you saved your files using the Time Machine backup, use the Migration Assistant to restore them. 

When Should You Reset Your Mac?

You may also ask and wonder “when should you reset your MacBook?” Two main reasons merit a factory reset. First, your MacBook has issues affecting its overall performance. 

You may notice these problems happening too often than normal. By resetting your MacBook, do a clean re-installation of the macOS. It normally solves several issues that often hound your computer.

Another reason is when you decide to sell your MacBook or pass it on to a friend or relative. Resetting your Mac and restoring its factory settings will keep your data safe. Moreover, it will save you from possible complications in the future.

Sometimes, Mac owners have trouble using certain software and other services if they fail to disconnect their Mac accordingly.

Additionally, if you decide to sell your MacBook, wiping it clean protects your personal information. Anyone can buy your MacBook and it may land in the wrong hands. If it does, you don’t want to have your personal details inside the computer. 

Check out reputable sites like setapp.com to learn more about resetting your MacBook and other devices.

Unleash the Potential of Your Devices

Now that you know how to reset your MacBook, give or sell it without compromising your data safety. It also resolves various issues that affect your computer performance.

However, learning how to reset your MacBook computer is one of the many things to master.

Unleash the potential of your other devices by reading our other blog posts. We share tips and tricks that will help maximize their features.